Tuesday, March 24, 2009

If You Love Research And You Know It, Clap Your Hands


All right, so I like to give my posts silly titles. *shrugs* It's fun!

Anyhoo, I'm back in reading mode after a long absence. This time, however, I've moved from my backlog of romance novels off all shapes, sizes and genres and gone to the non-fiction side of the fence. Why? Due to an overwhelming need to refill the well, and cleanse my mind of all the floatsom gathering on my creative shore (wow, talk about purple prose) and because I just need to do some research into a few topics I'm not that well versed in.

I might bemoan research. I even approach it backwards for the most part - writing a story and then filling in with facts when I know exactly what it is I need to research for specific questions. I'm one of those hopeless geeks that get so emerged in the research readings, I'd probably never raise my head to do the actual writing if I did it the traditional or even conventional way.

Point in fact. A few years ago, while researching Florida archeology for a contemporary romantic suspense, I found such interesting little tidbits in Florida history, I started making notes in the margin for future story ideas. (Luckily the book was a purchase and not a library loan). The same thing happened when I read books on alchemy. By the time I'd read to beginner's books I'd had so many new plots scribbled in the margins, I had enough material for another 2 or 3 books. Research is definately a hazard for me. I already have way too many ideas to write to worry about the creative flood gates opening and burying me under a tsunami of new plots and conflicts.

And yet. I can't help myself. I'm a knowledge junkie.

At the moment I'm staring down at two books on Victorian street life and one on remote viewing. I'll let you guess how I'll pull those two topics together.

Happy Reading,

-Kat

1 comment:

Skylar Masey said...

I'm a research junkie too! I have 2 bookshelves full of reference books, none of which are about the mechanics of writing. :0) I enjoy reading about history, specifically in Europe as well as some areas of science.

I find it energizing reading accounts in history and coming up with modern spins.